Finally Got A Job Offer And I’m Taking It

After 3 months, 56 applications, 21 recruiter screeners, 16 first-round calls, 6 on-site interviews, and one reneged verbal offer, I finally got a written job offer and I’m going to take it.

Here are the highlights:

  • Well-known tech company that will be helpful on my resume if I have to go through this whole job-searching thing again
  • Same role as I had previously in a high-demand domain that I am actually interested in
  • 35% increase in total compensation compared to former employer (ignoring the value of private stock options at former shop)
  • Excellent benefits: full health insurance, maternity leave, lunch daily, phone reimbursement, etc.
  • Lots of growth opportunities within this group if I manage to do my job well
  • Company known for good work-life balance, especially compared to the other behemoth going through a hiring boom in the area

Yellow flags:

  • Geographically distributed stakeholders across multiple continents, which means the occasional early morning or late night call (this is pretty typical for my role so I’m okay with this)
  • Boss is remote — good for my sense of autonomy, not great for training
  • Team’s been shuffled around a bit and isn’t fully staffed for their new goals, which will probably cause some pain as priorities shift and new people come onboard
  • No women on my team as far as I can tell, but everyone I met was very nice and it didn’t feel “bro-y” which is a good sign

It’s going to take a few weeks to get my background check processed and get me on the calendar to start training. But I’m ready to start working again. Thank goodness this job search is finally over.

8 thoughts on “Finally Got A Job Offer And I’m Taking It

  1. Congrats on the job! It sounds like a great deal, even with the yellow flags, so I hope you’re happy there for quite a while to come!

    Like

  2. Congrats!! We moved to working remotely a lot and have developed decent ways to train and support our new hires so I hope they have developed the same groove for your training. I hope you love it at this job or at least like it well enough that it’s a good fit for a long time.

    Like

Leave a comment