Financial Update – May 2022

Background

Each month I will post an update on my finances to both give you, the reader, some insight into my situation and to give me markers of my progress on my financial journey. My updates include both spending and net worth.

  • Spending is divided into joint and individual spending. My husband gets $600 a month and I get $450 a month for our own individual spending as an “allowance.”
  • I don’t include charitable contributions in our numbers below, but we allocate 10% of our post-tax income to this each year.
  • Our net worth goal tracked using undisclosed units of money. Our goal is to hit “Financial Equilibrium”, based on Thomas J. Anderson’s book The Value of Debt in Building Wealth. This is fairly close to our FIRE number.

Spending

Net Worth

Monthly Update

Just got back from traveling, so my financial update is just a smidge late this month. Not much to report except our big news: I’m eight weeks pregnant! Nausea, food avoidance, and fatigue have been rough, but obviously we’re super happy and excited to (fingers crossed) be parents soon!

How was your May

8 thoughts on “Financial Update – May 2022

  1. Congratulations! When I clicked on the blog update, I had a good feeling that you were going to have this good news – I”m so happy to hear it! Hope you are feeling better soon! ❤

    Like

Leave a comment